New warning message from NAS

I have a TS-233 NAS connected directly to my router running QTS version 5.2.10.3577. It has been working fine for several years as a backup for the data two computers. I usually shut the NAS down via the QFinder app when I set the PCs to hibernate for the day. Suddenly, starting last evening, I am receiving two warning messages in quick succession at about that time:

NAS Name: NAS60AA2B
Severity: Error
Date/Time: 2026/08/12 19:36:40

App Name: Users
Category: Login and Security
Message: [Users] Failed to log in via user account “admin”. Source IP address: 192.168.1.122.

Followed by:

NAS Name: NAS60AA2B
Severity: Error
Date/Time: 2026/08/12 19:36:47

App Name: Users
Category: Login and Security
Message: [Users] Failed to log in via user account “admin”. Source IP address: 192.168.1.122.

The Source IP address is my PC which is running Windows 11 Home.

Can anyone suggest why this should be happening, please?

QNAP sometimes resets the admin password during an update. Can you access the normal interface using “admin”?

Hello,

have you install the new version QfinderPro-7.14.1.0727 (from 12.08.2026) ?

Yes, I can and there are now 18 warnings!

I have updated in the last day or two and it is running 7.14.1.

You can downgrade Qfinderpro. When the problem is gone, it was Qfinderpro

Or it was the last patch from win11

QNAP sometimes resets the admin password during an update

I never heard that before? Is this a bug from a specific update?

This can happen when a password change and it is not updated in the saved connection.
But I understand it is not the case ?

Looking at this objectively I think I have really messed up here in terms of timing. Just in the last few days I have updated the software for QFinder Pro, the NAS itself and also Windows has updated itself. Consequently, trying to pick out which might be responsible seems to me to be an impossible task and I might just have to hope that it corrects itself over time.

If this is only happening with Qfinder, try unchecking the box next to “Save login information.”

Logging in to what? The NAS or QFinder Pro

Can you just test by not using qfinder for a while (not really needed for anything anyways)

If the warnings stop, it’s Qfinder. If the warnings persist, it’s some other program or incorrect stored credentials on your PC.

If the alert no longer appears after closing Qfinder Pro, it’s possible this is a side effect introduced in the newer version of Qfinder Pro. I’ll ask our internal team to try reproducing the issue. Thank you!

The new version appears to be the problem. I have re-installed 7.14.0 and there appears to be no recurrence.

Thanks to everyone who has tried to help out with this. For the time being, at least, my inbox has returned to normal.:melting_face: